Latest News           Services           Circuits           Contact Us           Archives           Subscribe           Search
New Study Says Bush Administration Puts Sea Turtles at Risk Of Extinction


SAN JOSE, CA, October 4, 2004 --/WORLD-WIRE/--
As part of its 22nd anniversary celebration, SVTC gave awards and recognized individuals who have served as champions and pioneers in the movement to build accountability from the electronics industry.

The awards ceremony took place at the Martin Luther King Library at San Jose State University. Among those honored are:
  • California State Assemblywoman for her commitment to support environmental health and justice and to improve policies on occupational health

  • San Jose City Councilwoman Linda LeZotte for her support on initiatives to make San Jose a national leader in developing e-waste policy and on all matters of environmental protection

  • Rene St. Denis for her work as the Americas Product Take Back Manager for Hewlett-Packard that inspired people within Hewlett-Packard and throughout the U.S to address the entire life cycle of electronic products

  • Maria Lopez for her leadership in the struggle to save the Olinder Community Center

  • Richard Alexander for his career as a legal advocate for the underdog and the under-privileged

  • Alida Hernandez, Jim Morris and Amanda Hawes for their dedication and sincerity in support of a safer and healthier workplace. Jim and Alida were plaintiffs in the IBM trial earlier this year. These champions will be awarded the Helen Clark Award, a new award this year.

  • Maria Lopez for her leadership in the struggle to save the Olinder Community Center

  • Wen-Ling Tu for her inspiring work as a founder and leading activist with the Taiwanese Environmental Activist Network and helping to build an effective international network to promote global sustainability

  • Lenny Siegel for his activism over many years in the struggle to clean up and protect the groundwater at Moffett Field and at many other military bases throughout the U.S.
The celebration took place at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library at San Jose State University, Caret Plaza Lawn, 4th and San Fernando Streets. It was an award ceremony and old fashioned picnic, with games and a barbecue by the San Jose Firefighters Local 230.

For more information visit:

Ted Smith: 408-287-6707
Leslie Byster 503-957-6253

Copyright © 2006, World-Wire. All rights reserved.
Issuers of news releases and not World-Wire are solely responsible for the accuracy of the content.